Faulkner with a “U”

Finishing Philip Weinstein’s “Becoming Faulkner”, I am now going to begin to re-read Faulkner’s works. Given the pernicious persistence of racism, Faulkner’s prediction that it would take 300 years to transform civilization to equity now seems less bizarre. I am most interested in the fact that Faulkner the author, in telling his stories of black and white, seemed more able to empathize, to understand, and to demand change than Faulkner the person. I will be exploring the separation between the mind that creates and the person who lives and will be writing about this. How did his creative mind advance beyond his conscious ken?

Publication Order of Sin and Salvation Books

Sartoris (1929)
The Sound and the Fury (1929)
As I Lay Dying (1930)
Sanctuary (1931)
Light in August (1931)
Absalom, Absalom! (1936)
Requiem for a Nun (1951)

Publication Order of Snopes Books

The Hamlet (1940)
The Town (1957)
The Mansion (1959)

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Soldiers Pay (1926)
Mosquitoes (1927)
Pylon (1935)
The Unvanquished (1938)
The Wild Palms (1939)
Intruder in the Dust (1948)
A Fable (1954)
The Reivers (1962)
Flags in the Dust (1973)

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

These 13 (1931)
Doctor Martino and Other Stories (1934)
Go Down, Moses (1942)
The Portable Faulkner (1946)
Knight’s Gambit (1949)
Collected Stories of William Faulkner (1950)
Big Woods: The Hunting Stories (1955)
New Orleans Sketches (1958)
Three Famous Short Novels (1958)
Selected Short Stories of William Faulkner (1961)
The Wishing Tree (1964)
Uncollected Stories of William Faulkner (1979)